If you committed a registerable offense, you must register with the Massachusetts registry (SORB) if you live, work, or attend school in Massachusetts. You must also register any time your personal or contact information changes.
Those in Massachusetts who committed a sexual offense, must register with the Massachusetts Sex Offender Registry. You must also update your information in the registry if you:
- have any secondary addresses in Massachusetts
- are moving to Massachusetts
- become homeless
- are working in Massachusetts
- live out of state, but attend school in Massachusetts
Registered Persons with secondary addresses
When registering with the Sex Offender Registry Board, you must include your address. You must also include any secondary addresses you have in Massachusetts.
A secondary address:
- is anywhere you live or stay for at least 14 days during the year
- is anywhere you live or stay for at least 4 days in a month
- is not your primary address
- includes out-of-state addresses
If your primary address is not in Massachusetts, but you have a secondary address here, you must still register that address.
Registered Persons moving in or out of Massachusetts
If you are required to register due to a sexual offense and moving to Massachusetts from another state, you must register as with the SORB within two days of moving.
If you live in Massachusetts and are moving somewhere else in the state, you must register your new address at least 10 days before moving.
If you are moving out of Massachusetts, you must:
- Notify the Sex Offender Registry Board at least 10 days before moving.
- Register with the appropriate office in any state you are moving to.
Registered Persons who are Homeless
If you are a registered person living in a homeless shelter, you must verify your registry information every 30 days at your local police department.
Registered Persons working in Massachusetts
If you are a on the registry in another state but working in Massachusetts, you must:
- Register with the Massachusetts SORB within two days of starting your job.
- Register your work address within 10 days of starting your job.
If you change jobs in Massachusetts, you must register your new work address within 10 days of starting your new job.
Out of state registered persons attending Massachusetts schools
If you are a on the registry and living in another state but going to school in Massachusetts, you must register with the Massachusetts SORB within 10 days of starting school.
Penalties for failing to comply
You will be prosecuted if you are a sex offender who knowingly:
- Does not register
- Does not verify your registration information
- Does not update any changes in your address, work, or school
- Gives false information
Punishments for first-time violations include:
- Between 6 months and and 2.5 years in a house of correction
- Maximum of 5 years in state prison, a maximum fine of $1,000, or both
Punishment for repeat violations include a minimum of five years in state prison