Offender Levels

There are three levels of offenders in Massachusetts. Offenders are classified based on their risk of re-offending and the degree of danger they pose to the public.

An offender is any person who lives, works, or attends school in Massachusetts who has:

  • Been convicted of a sex offense
  • Been adjudicated as a youthful offender or as a delinquent juvenile for a sex offense
  • Been released from incarceration, parole, probation supervision, or custody with the Department of Youth Services for a sex offense conviction or adjudication
  • Been adjudicated as a sexually dangerous person, or a person released from civil commitment anytime from August 1, 1981

Level 1 offenders

  • Have a low risk of re-offending
  • Pose a low degree of danger to the public

The public cannot access information about Level 1 offenders. Their information is only provided to: All municipal and state police departments, Federal Bureau of Investigation, Department of Correction and all county correctional facilities, Department of Youth Services, Department of Children & Families, Massachusetts Parole Board, Department of Probation, and Department of Mental Health

Level 2 offenders

  • Have a moderate risk of re-offending
  • Pose a moderate degree of danger to the public

The public can only access Level 2 offender data on the internet for sex offenders classified after July 12, 2013. Complete Level 2 offender data including those classified prior to July 12, 2013 is accessible through police departments and by named individual SORI requests through the Sex Offender Registry Board.

Level 3 offenders

  • Have a high risk of re-offending
  • Pose a high degree of danger to the public

Information about Level 3 offenders is publicly available. You can get this information through local police departments and through the online registry.